inspiring outstanding leaders

The miracle of personal development

In Uncategorized on 2 November 2009 at 10:08 pm

I have mentioned before the inspiration that I get from reading Jim Rohn’s weekly ezine.

This week he extolls the virtues of Personal Development. I would love to hear whether his quotes below resonate with you too?

“Learn to work harder on yourself than you do on your job”

Ways I am working hard on myself this month have included:

  • drinking 2 litres (5 pints) of water most days
  • taking time out to read
  • planning pauses for reflection into my day
  • thinking about exercising (an area for improvement I think!)

“What you become is far more important than what you get.”

"The important question to ask on the job is not, "What am I getting?" Instead, you should ask, "What am I becoming?". Getting and becoming are like Siamese twins: What you become, directly influences what you get. Think of it this way: Most of what you have today you have attracted by becoming the person you are today.”

It has become very evident to me recently that those who succeed at work are those who are more bothered about “What am I becoming?” rather than “What am  I getting?”.

By putting focus on personal development you gain control over ‘what am I becoming?‘. This could mean that ‘What am I getting?’, is actually, ‘What I want‘.

If you would like to read more by Jim Rohn you can subscribe to his ezine here.

Leave a Reply

