inspiring outstanding leaders

Guilt-free Day

In Uncategorized on 2 November 2009 at 10:12 pm

raymond-me-too-2

How often do you … “Love all the things you do each day"?
or sing to yourself (or others) "I’m so happy being me, doing all the things I love to do"?

I am coming to terms with the fact that I am often in situations, particularly at work, where I can’t be ‘me’. When I think about these times I have a strong subconscious physical reaction linked to the desire to be ‘me’ that I really want to understand better.

Over the last few weeks I have been planning ways of increasing the amount of my week when I can be ‘me’ by making careful choices about what I want to start doing and what I want to stop doing. As a result I decided to christen yesterday as a “Guilt-free Day”. I even labeled it as such in my diary.

I decided that I had spent all week accomplishing things on my ‘need to do’ list and therefore I could afford to spend just one day doing this things I wanted to do and not feeling guilty for it.

In reality, I didn’t actually change my planned schedule. However I did slow down, went easy on myself and enjoyed the things I did do so much more. Amazing! Perhaps I will make next Friday a Guilt-free day too…

It is amazing where inspiration for a blog can spring from. This blog came from a children’s television program called ‘Me Too!’ which tells the parallel stories of a parent at work and their child having fun with their child minder.

Leave a Reply

